MRTA E-News



Volume 4

Number 6

September 2021

A NEWSPAPER FOR RETIRED EDUCATION PERSONNEL

3030 DUPONT CIRCLE, JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65109 - 1-877-366-MRTA (6782)



MRTA Annual Meeting 2021

The 2021 MRTA Annual Meeting was held September 14th & 15th at Capitol Plaza Hotel in Jefferson City. In late spring of 2021, the decision was made to hold the MRTA Annual Meeting in person. To hold the meeting as safely as possible, the MRTA Board decided to recommend all participants be vaccinated and required masks while in large groups. The meeting was smaller than in years past, but we enjoyed over 200 attendees.

MRTA Bylaw Changes

The MRTA Delegates' Assembly voted on several issues that would change the MRTA Bylaws. The first change allows for MRTA members over the age of 90 to be considered lifetime members. This program existed before 2021 for members over 100 years of age. If any member has reached the age of 90 or over, they must contact the MRTA office to request the lifetime member status. Delegates also decided that MRTA can now hold "electronic" votes. This means that, for instance, in the case of a pandemic meetings of the MRTA Board, Committees, and the MRTA Delegates' Assembly can be held virtually, and voting by phone or email can take place.

Dues Increase

The Delegates also approved a dues increase beginning January 1, 2022. Below is an explanation of the dues structure. 2022 renewal notices have been mailed, and you will receive yours soon if you owe for 2022. Please note: dues are still \$35 until after

The MRTA Delegates' Assembly approved an MRTA dues increase beginning January 1, 2022.

Pay your dues now to save!

New MRTA dues for 2022

MRTA Membership - \$44/year

MRTA Memberships paid by Auto Dues Renewal - \$39/year

Pay in advance for at least three years of MRTA Membership - \$117 (\$39/year x 3)

Associate Membership Dues - \$25/year

To sign up for Auto Dues Renewal, visit www.mrta.org and click Join Now.

New MRTA Leadership

We are happy to welcome new MRTA President Nancy Craig of Valley Park, Missouri! The Delegates also voted to elect Martha Schatz as President Elect, Maureen Hacker as Vice President, and re-elected Sandy Applegate as MRTA Recording Secretary. Other new members appointed to the MRTA Board in 2021 were: Connie Firner, Marilyn Skipper, Virgie Cook, David Baker, Sunni Wilson, Sue Groves, Jack Poston, Mark Cook, Idella Warden, Linda Lueckenhoff, and Randy McClain.



left: Cape
Girardeau
Unit Members
Mark Cook,
Timothy Ward,
Wanda Brown,
and Mary Lou
Bass pose
with the MRTA
Watchdog Blitz



above: (I-r) Region 10 was awarded the first ever recipient of the MRTA Diamond Region Program! Pictured are Sue Groves, Idella Warden, Arleta Godwin, Martha Schatz, and Karen Miller



above: 2020-2021 MRTA President Arleta Godwin and 2021-2022 President Nancy Craig



above: 2021 MRTA Distinguished Retiree of the Year Lisa Schwandt



left: Kayla Otto and Wendy Bernier help keynote speaker Devin Henderson show the crowd how something greater is always possible



above: (I-r) 2021 MRTA Distinguished Retirees Gay Dittemore accepting for David Primm, Mark Lueckenhoff, Vicki Ukelya, Lisa Schwandt, Marilyn Skipper, Sunni Wilson, Terry Hulett, Nadine Horner, Roma Welch, Judy Pohl, Zenda Folta, and Patsy Nixon



above: (I-r) Julia Platt, MRTA Treasurer; Fred Price, MRTA Past President; Arleta Godwin, MRTA 2020-2021 President; Nancy Craig, MRTA 2021-2022 President; Sandy Applegate, MRTA Secretary; and Karen Miller, MRTF President

above: Lynda Holder accepts for the Independence Unit

MRTA Units of Excellence



above: 53 MRTA Units were presented with Unit of Excellence Awards



above: Mary Mael accepts for the Barry County Unit



above: Sandy Berry accepts for the Special School District of St. Louis/Suburban Unit



above: Brenda Cologna accepts for the Webster County Unit



above: Kay Cameron accepts for the Andrew County Unit



above: Linda Orscheln accepts for the Central MO Unit



above: Jan Loudenslager accepts for the Boone County Unit



above: Linda Surber accepts for the Butler County Unit



above: Karen Sinning accepts for the Wright County Unit



above: Keith Stayton accepts for the Clinton County Unit



above: Margaret Ferman accepts for the Grandview Unit



above: Kathy Eichmeyer accepts for the Laclede County Unit



above: Janice Douglas accepts for the Audrain County Unit



above: Susan Wilson accepts for the Franklin County Unit



above: Virgie Cook accepts for the Henry County Unit



above: Pamela Hardy accepts for the Linn County Unit



above: Terri Mattern accepts for the Miller County Unit

MRTF Silent Auction

The MRTF Silent Auction raised \$11,711 this year. All proceeds of the Silent Auction go to the MRTF Classroom Grant Fund. THANK YOU to everyone who donated items, cash, and time to this project.



Missouri Retired Teachers Foundation Facts as of September, 2021 "Honoring the Past and Giving to the Future"

The Missouri Retired Teachers Foundation (MRTF) is a tax exempt 501(c)(3) charitable corporation devoted to raising funds to carry out charitable and educational purposes of the Missouri Retired Teachers Association and School Personnel (MRTA).

The Foundation is young, established in 2001. After its approval by the IRS and Missouri Department of Revenue, the Foundation, partnering with MRTA, embarked on a major building campaign to provide a permanent office building/classroom for the Foundation and MRTA. Many fundraisers were organized to accomplish this goal. Do you remember the piggy banks?? The Ribbon Cutting Ceremony for the completed facility was held September 21, 2009, and the building was completely paid for in 2012. Soon afterward, it was determined that we needed an elevator. \$107,000 was raised in one year to pay for and install it.

With the building paid for, our focus turned to helping current Missouri public school employees. Our CLASSROOM GRANT PROGRAM has done just that. Since 2003, MRTF has awarded:

- 56 scholarships
- 785 Classroom Grants
- 21 Maggie Elder/PEERS grants

Total value - \$460,500!

In 2021 alone, we awarded 120 \$500 Classroom Grants and 11 \$500 Maggie Elder/PEERS Grants for a total of \$65,500 back to current Missouri Public School Employees from retired Missouri public school employees! What a fantastic PR tool for MRTA! We have several ways to fund our grants programs: Annual Meeting Silent Auction, End of the Year Ask, memorial or honorarium donations, mileage reimbursement, mailing labels, donation of PSRS/PEERS Death Benefit, Amazon Smile, and our biggest project, the \$10,000 Raffle.

What's in store for 2022? We won't know all of the details until after our December MRTF Board Meeting, but grants will definitely be part of the picture. Applications for 2022 MRTF Grants will be available in January on our website www.mortf.org.